Strategic Canadian location for the efficient movement of goods and people by road, rail, air and sea.

Home>About>Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Halifax Gateway Council receives guidance and direction from a Board of Directors consisting of senior executives from industry and government.

Voting Members

  • George Malec, Board Chair, Vice President Business Development & Operations, Halifax Port Authority
  • Wesley Armour, President and CEO, Armour Transportation Systems
  • Richard Butts, CAO, Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Joyce Carter, President and CEO, Halifax Stanfield International Airport
  • Nancy Conrad, Senior Vice President Policy, Halifax Chamber of Commerce
  • Marie Houde, Director Business Development, CN
  • Paul Kent, President & CEO, Greater Halifax Partnership
  • Dr. Joshua Leon, Dean of Engineering, Dalhousie University
  • Patricia Lyall, President and CEO, Destination Halifax
  • Karen Oldfield, President and CEO, Halifax Port Authority
  • Doug McRae, Chief Operating Officer, Gateway Facilities ULC
  • Bernard Prevost, Chief Operating Officer, I.H. Mathers
  • Todd Protheroe, Director of Logistics, Clearwater Seafood Inc.
  • Captain Sidney Hynes, Executive Chairman, Oceanex
  • Steve Snider, General Manager and CEO, Halifax Harbor Bridges

Non-Voting Members

  • Marc Fortin, Regional Director General for the Atlantic Region, Transport Canada
  • Peter Hogan, Vice President Nova Scotia, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Paul LaFleche, Deputy Minister NS Transportation & Infrastructure Renewal
  • David Oxner, Executive Director, Nova Scotia Gateway Secretariat
  • Kyle Schmeisser, Director, Account Management, Nova Scotia Business Inc.